Golden Globes announced

I know I’m a few days late on this subject, but I’ve been traversing the country for an early Christmas, so I’ll excuse myself the tardiness.  There are always question marks as to why certain things were nominated, but this year’s Golden Globe nominations seem insanely arbitrary.  I’ll lay off of the television stuff because I’m not nearly as into TV as movies (although Community getting ignored is a crime!).

I’ve spoken with several film-loving friends and we all agreed that 2010 just wasn’t the best year for film.  I have three films at the top of my list, but I’d have a tough time rounding out a top five, let alone ten (those films: The Good, the Bad, and the Weird, Scott Pilgrim, Toy Story 3, though Black Swan, the Social Network, Winter’s Bone, or True Grit could join them).

The trouble starts with the Best Comedy or Musical category where none of the films got much love from critics aside from The Kids Are All Right (and Alice in Wonderland did big, 3-D assisted business).  But are The Tourist and Red even comedies?  And The Tourist also has two acting nods.  Bizarre.  And how is Scott Pilgrim not nominated for an original song?

I’m not going to lose much sleep over this, but I’m kind of fascinated by the process and the publicity machine behind nominees for all awards, really.  What do you all think?  An embarrassment?  Doesn’t matter?

Leave a Reply

