Staff Halloween Horror Picks: Connor Kirkwood

Just in time for the actual day, manager-extraordinaire Connor Kirkwood gets his picks in.  I blame myself for his last minute entry since I failed to contact him about the project when I contacted everyone else.  But no worries, because it’s here now!  On with Connor’s picks and Happy Halloween!

CREEPSHOW (1982): The first horror movie that I can remember seeing. There’s a vignette about Stephen King turning into a hunk of space moss that haunted me for about five years.

ALIEN (1979): The greatest science-fiction film ever made (yeah, I said it) and also the most legitimately scary film I’ve ever seen. Every time I even thing about a facehugger, I pee my pants a little. DIRECTOR’S CUT ONLY, as the theatrical release excised one of the most brutal scenes.

THE FURY (1978): John Cassavetes and cranial explosions are the only things I need from a film, and this one has both.

BABE: PIG IN THE CITY (1998): A horror film cloaked in the twitching corpse of a kid’s movie. An old mute clown lords over a gang of creepily apathetic chimpanzees. A pitbull drowns for an excruciatingly long time. The sets modeled are after German Expressionist films. And a weird city-as-urban-hell vibe reigns. No joke. This is one of my favorite movies of all time.

Leave a Reply

