Sweethearts of the Prison Rodeo

Friday, October 8 — 7 PM
Director Bradley Beesley in attendance

I’m not much of rodeo sort of fellow.  It’s not really a ethical stance; I guess I just don’t like cowboy hats all that much.  My time at farm shows and fairs are usually spent around the food stands and the animals (or as I like to call them, pre-food). I have no problem passing on the rodeo aspects and certainly don’t feel that I’m missing out on anything.

But a prison rodeo?  Now I’m listening.

I don’t know what it is about that one word that makes it that much more intriguing.  Actually, I do know part of it.  There’s a sort of romanticism of prisoners.  They’re mysterious.  What did they do?  How long are they in for?  Why did they do it?  If you hear someone has been in jail, you tend to think the worst (an episode of the American version of The Office dealt with this to great effect).  These men and women, for a brief period of time, are no longer convicts, but the subject of the public’s cheers and adulation.  It adds an entirely new layer to the idea of a rodeo.

Leave a Reply

