Waking Sleeping Beauty

Beginning Friday, September 24

I doubt that I’m the only one that grew up in a Disney family.  Perhaps the only things that came close to a love of Disney animation were The Muppets and Peanuts (and the former is now under Disney management).  There are even designs to sprinkle my dad’s ashes around Disney world when he one day passes (but Shhhhh!  Don’t tell anyone).  My family’s VHS collection was dominated by those over-sized book boxes the Disney tapes came in (dominated is a bit of an understatement).  So Waking Sleeping Beauty is of great personal interest to me.

After a considerable drought, the mid-80s to mid-90s saw a return to form for Disney’s animation department.  Just look at the films they made: The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, and The Lion King.  Waking Sleeping Beauty tells that story in the words of those who lived it.  You’ll hear from Tim Burton, John Lasseter (Pixar big shot), Jeffrey Katzenberg (of Dreamworks), Michael Eisner, and Roy E. Disney amongst many others.

I’m missed my chance to see it at PIFF, so I’m looking forward to seeing it now.  My family would be disappointed if I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

