Happy Birthday, Mel Brooks!

Were I to acknowledge the birthday’s of every person who has made an impact on film, I’d have to post birthday wishes every day of the year.  However, having skipped out on Bruce Campbell’s birthday on June 22nd (sorry Bruce!) I feel even more compelled to acknowledge Mel Brooks’ special day.

Not only did Mel Brooks (along with Monty Python and Leslie Nielson) help to form my sense of humor in my youth, but my trivia team recently won on a theme night dedicated solely to him (a $25 voucher for the bar in which it took place plus $2.5 happy hour during trivia equals a good night!).  I feel even more compelled to bring attention to this day because there were only two other teams present!  Clearly, Mel Brooks has fallen out of the public consciousness.  Sounds ridiculous, right?  So, in celebration, I leave you with these clips.  Happy 84th birthday, Melvin Kaminsky!

Leave a Reply

